Organized Home

Organize. Stage. Design. Downsize

Keeping Track of Brainstorms October 12, 2009

Filed under: Home office organizing — organizedhomeinc @ 2:03 pm
Tags: , , ,

What do you do when a super great idea pops into your head? Do you keep it there only to forget most of it moments later? Do you write it down on a scrape piece of paper and miss place it under paper piles, as your workday gets moving? How many post-it notes do you have plastered around your office with ideas and thoughts? The truth is that I have been guilty of all these ways to remember a great idea in the mist of life. I definitely do not count on my brain to remember anymore because I suffer from an acute case of “Mommy brain”. Lets explore a couple tools you can use to store and revisit your great ideas.

  1. Record ideas on your phone. Many phones these days have a recording feature. This is great when you are driving to soccer practice or at the grocery store. My recordings download on to itunes and I can listen to them later when a quite moment has some how happened.
  2. Keep a small notebook with you at all times. The epiphany has shown it lovely head and you need to jot down those ideas before they leave with the next interruption.  Choose a notebook that you can easily fit in your handbag, pocket or car. If you are more of a visual person, writing down your thoughts will help you remember them.
  3. The priceless white board. The other day I tweeted about buying a white board for my office to help me brainstorm.  I purchased the largest one I could find, filled it up with ideas and guests for my Blog Talk Radio show and realized I need another one! I love it and the act of writing in different colors and just writing allows me to be even more creative.

Choose what works best for you or maybe a combination will work for you. To tell you the truth I use all three. When I’m in my office I like using my white board. I write in my notebook when I’m waiting for my daughter’s gymnastics to wind up or school to get out. (If I talk into my phone, people might wonder about my state of mind) My phone is great for car trips. When I drive longer distances to client’s homes or meetings, writing in a notebook is not recommended. Look around, look at your habits and schedule to choose the best system to archive your epiphanies. Who knows one could change your life!

 

4 Responses to “Keeping Track of Brainstorms”

  1. Jane Says:

    Very good! I use all 3 as well, and sometimes email recordings to myself.

  2. Love the white board idea. I’m a fan and use one too. Also use Evernote which automatically synchs up all my computers and ipod touch.

    Great post – thanks.

  3. smilinggreenmom Says:

    Love your new blog! I have one too now at smilinggreenmom!! Anyway- the only way I can remember anything at all is with my dry erase board too. I have it hanging in my kitchen for ALL things that come to mind!!

  4. Liz Jenkins Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of white boards for some reason but I love notebooks and legal pads for brainstorming. Probably due ot my love of a freshly sharpened pencil! My current one has a holographic Wonder Woman on it (got it for my daughter but decided to keep it for myself). I love Evernote as well.
    Outlook as a Journal function as well which can be handy.


Leave a comment